VULCAN

 


Our PhD and MPhil Graduates    PhD Graduation 2015

The Group at Present
   
Ian Burgess ian.burgess@shef.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 5060

I have now been working in the Department of Civil and Structural Engineering at Sheffield for 40-odd years, having previously got my BA at Cambridge, my PhD at University College London and done a brief but exciting two years at McMaster University in Canada. What basically turns me on is understanding how structures work, and this still dominates both my research and teaching. I started by working in an obscure but interesting corner of the work in the general theory of elastic stability which happened in the late 60s and 70s at UCL. In Canada I got interested in flutter instability, and worked on it until about 1980, having found that it is possible in rather unlikely situations such as pile-driving.  In about 1985 I joined Roger Plank in starting to think about how to analyse the behaviour of structural steel in fire. This has become more and more absorbing as we have progressed from simple elements to three-dimensional structures, finding in the process that steel is easy to deal with compared to concrete, which unfortuately is also impossible to ignore.  Most recently I have become obsessed with developing a logical mechanics-based model of the behaviour of thin composite slabs in fire, including both tensile and compressive membrane action.

Outside research, I played Water-Polo since the dawn of time, and now just occasionally get to do so. I'm also a long-term Sheffield United supporter and perpetual optimist.

   
Buick Davison j.davison@shef.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 114 22 25354

I am Buick Davison. My connection with Sheffield University goes back to 1977 when I joined the department as an undergraduate. After graduating in 1980 I worked with a local consulting engineer on a variety of structural projects. In 1984 I returned to the university as a Research Assistant working with Pat Kirby and David Nethetcot on the influence of joint performance on steel frame behaviour. After completing my PhD I joined the staff as a lecturer teaching structural design. In 1990 I left to join a consulting practice and worked on a number of exciting structural projects (grandstands, multistorey offices, hospitals etc). 1993 saw me back in the department again! Since then I have continued working in the field of joint performance, mainly considering the design implications and also extending the work into behaviour of tubular columns with flowdrill connections.

More recently I have become involved in the work of the Fire Research group supervising the work of Craig English, Spryros Spyrou, Florian Block and Marwan Sarraj. On a slight tangent, I have been looking into the environmental impacts of frame materials and supervised a student who has developed an assessment tool for the embodied impacts of building frames.

   
Shan Shan Huang  S.Huang@sheffield.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 114 22 25727


Shan-Shan Huang is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Civil and Structural Engineering of the University of Sheffield. Apart from teaching Structural Engineering, she conducts research on Structural Fire Engineering - Trying to answer questions like "What happens to structures in fire?" "How can we improve the current fire engineering practices, in terms of safety, efficiency, sustainability, etc.?"

Her current research focuses are:
• Sustainable concrete in fire, e.g. prevent explosive spalling using recycled tyre fibres;
• Fire resistance of greener building systems - e.g. engineered timber in fire.
• Robustness and the prevention of disproportionate progressive collapse of high-rise building structures in fire – e.g. steel beam-to-columns connection and composite slabs.
 

She obtained her MSc (Distinction) degree in Steel Construction in 2005 and completed her PhD "The Effects of Transient Strain on the Strength of Concrete-Filled Columns in Fire" in 2009, both from the University of Sheffield. She then carried on working as a Post Doctoral Research Associate on the European collaborative project COMPFIRE (Design of Joints to Composite Columns for Improved Fire Robustness) before taking up a Lecturer post.

   
Yu Liu yliu230@sheffield.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 114 22 25729

Yu Liu joined the Structural Fire Engineering Group to pursue his PhD after obtaining his Bachelor's degree from Tongji University (2010-2014) and his Master's degree from Shanghai Jiao Tong University (2014-2017) in China. He is currently studying the behaviour and design of ductile steel-to-steel connections to improve the robustness of framed structures in fire.
   
Yifan Li yli101@sheffield.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 114 22 25729

Yifan Li is a PhD student who joined theGroup in 2018 after obtained his MSc degree at University College London in 2017. He came to the UK in 2013 to study Civil Engineering at Cardiff University and obtained His BEng degree in 2016. Outside research, Yifan is a car enthusiast (but never yet had the money to buy one), A PC gamer who plays a lot of DOTA 2. Likes all kinds of sports but eats fatty food. Trying to be cool but getting bald, being optimistic all the time and easy going.

top


 

Our Graduates

Dr Anthony Abu

University of Canterbury, NZ
tony.abu@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Khalifa Al-Jabri

Sultan Qaboos University, Oman
aljabri@squ.edu.om
Dr Ahmed Allam

Beyond FSE consultants , Dubai
ahmed.jaheen@hotmail.com

Ali Alskeif MPhil

alialskeif@hotmail.com

Professor Colin Bailey

University of Manchester
colin.bailey@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Florian Block

Buro Happold FEDRA, Leeds
florian.block@burohappold.com
Dr Lucy Bull

Tinsley Bridge Ltd, Sheffield
lucy.bull2015@gmail.com
Neal Butterworth MPhil

Arup Fire, Leeds
neal.butterworth@arup.com
Dr Jun Cai

Fabsec Ltd, Leeds
caij@fabsec.co.uk

Dr Seng-Kwan Choi

University of Ulster
s.choi@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Gang Dong

MMI Engineering Ltd
gang.dong@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Jamal El-Rimawi

Loughborough University of Technology
j.a.el-rimawi@lboro.ac.uk

Dr Samantha Tearle (Foster)

samanthafoster550@hotmail.com

Dr Craig English

Astute Fire Ltd
craigenglish@astutefire.com

Dr Ying (Andy) Hu

Chongqing University, China
manchester2010andy@hotmail.com
 
Dr Mohamedali (Danyal) Javaheriafif

M.Javaheriafif@sheffield.ac.uk
 
Dr Graham Knapp

Buro Happold Ltd, Leeds
graham.knapp@burohappold.com
 
Dr Lee Leston-Jones

Cundall Global Ltd
theteam@cundallglobal.com
Dr Samer Najjar

Palestine technical University, Kadoorie
s.najjar@hotmail.co.uk
 
  Dr Olayiwola Olawale

Osun State University, Nigeria
olawales@hotmail.com

Dr Guan Quan

g.quan@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Paul Rose

Rose Consulting Engineers, Halifax
roseconsult@blueyonder.co.uk
 

Dr Marwan Sarraj

Umm Al-Qura University, Saudi Arabia
   

Dr Paul Shepherd

University of Bath
p.shepherd@bath.ac.uk

Dr RuoXi Shi

r.shi@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Yuan Yuan Song

Arup Fire, Sydney Australia
yuanyuan.song@arup.com

Dr Spyros Spyrou

International Fire Ltd , Cyprus
intfire@cytanet.com.cy

Dr Rui-Rui Sun

IMI Ltd, Aberdeen
RSun@MMIEngineering.com

Dr Mariati Taib

Universiti Sains Malaysia
mariataib@gmail.com

Dr Yuan Tian

Amey Ltd
tian2003520@hotmail.com

Dr Bernice Vui Yee Wong

Ramboll Fire, London
Bernice.Wong@ramboll.co.uk

Dr Young Wong

Arup Fire, Hong Kong
young.wong@arup.com

Dr Chaoming Yu

Buro Happold, Hong Kong
chaoming.yu@burohappold.com

Dr Xinmeng Yu

Dongguan University of Tehnology, China
xinmengyu@gmail.com

Dr Atilla Oven

We were distressed to hear of Atilla's death after a road accident in 2005. Since his PhD at Sheffield he had worked at Gebze Institute of Technology, Turkey.

 


We do not have recent photographs for Dr Sha'ari Abu or Dr Hassan Saab.

(Recent photos and news would be very welcome.)

 

Ex-Colleagues and Research Visitors

Dr Antonio Claret de Gouveia

Universidade Federal de Ouro Preto, Brazil
claret@em.ufop.br

Dr Zhaohui Huang

Brunel University, London
zhaohui.huang@brunel.ac.uk

Dr Hongxia Yu

Arup Fire, Beijing, China
inbiscus@hotmail.com

Anja Renner

TU Darmstadt, Germany
renner@stahlbau.tu-darmstadt.de

Dr Baochao Xie

Central South University, China
xiebaochao@hotmail.com

Dr Martin Stadler


TU München, Germany
stadler@bv.tu-muenchen.de

Dr Takeo Hirashima

Chiba University, Japan
hirashima@faculty.chiba-u.jp


Julio Fernandez Ceniceros

University of La Rioja, Spain
julio.fernandezc@unirioja.es

Wenjie Xu

Harbin Institute of Technology, China
xwj0323@126.com

Dr Neno Toric

University of Split, Croatia
ntoric@gradst.hr

Professor Roger Plank

Vulcan Solutions Ltd
roger.plank@vulcan-solutions.com

Professor Charles Clifton

University of Auckland, New Zealand
c.clifton@auckland.ac.nz

Michal Malendowski

University of Poznan, Poland
michal.malendowski@put.poznan.pl

Shanshan Cheng

University of Plymouth
shanshan.cheng@plymouth.ac.uk

Dr Fabio Figueiredo

fabiopfigueiredo@gmail.com

Aasif Hussain Shah

shahaasifhussain@gmail.com

   

top


 

Our most recent PhD graduates: Guan Quan and RuoXi Shi, July 2017


top